THE GHOSTS IN OUR MACHINE: Connecting the Docs in Toronto & Victoria, April 23, 2014

This post published on March 15, 2014

We are thrilled to announce the third episode of our Connecting the Docs  hybrid cinema series, generously supported by the Canada Media Fund. 

2

1 documentary, 2 cities, discussion everywhere!

On Wednesday April 23rd, we coordinated two screenings and discussions of Liz Marshall’s beautiful, gentle award-winning film THE GHOSTS IN OUR MACHINE in Toronto, Victoria and online. The live post-screening discussions in each city was live streamed on our LIVE page (via Ustream), accompanied by a #ForTheGhosts Tweetchat and Facebook discussion, providing opportunities for online engagement on animal rights, no matter where you are in the world. The film was also available for streaming online, starting April 22, 2014.  The goal is to connect the docs across time and space!

Read through the narrative archive of the event, via Storify. 

All the event details can be found below, or on the Facebook event page.

THE GHOSTS IN OUR MACHINE – THEATRICAL TRAILER

THE GHOSTS IN OUR MACHINE

A film by Liz Marshall Featuring Jo-Anne McArthur
Produced by Nina Beveridge & Liz Marshall.

THE GHOSTS IN OUR MACHINE is a multi-award winning documentary by Liz Marshall that illuminates the lives of individual anSonny at Farm Sanctuary smimals living within and rescued from the machine of our modern world. With the exception of our companion animals and a few wild or stray species within our environments, we experience animals daily as food, clothing, animal tested goods and entertainment, a moral dilemma that is often hidden from view. Through the heart and photographic lens of acclaimed photographer Jo-Anne McArthur, we become intimately familiar with a cast of non-human animals. The film follows Jo-Anne over the course of a year as she photographs several animal stories in parts of Canada, the U.S. and in Europe. Each story is a window into global animal industries:  Food, Fashion, Entertainment and Research.

THE GHOSTS IN OUR MACHINE charts McArthur’s efforts to bring wider attention to a topic that most of humankind strives hard to avoid. Are non-human animals property to be owned and used, or are they sentient beings deserving of rights?

JOIN US LIVE or ONLINE!

The OPEN CINEMA Live page is your one stop hop to participate in the online the discussion online.

  • 6.30pm ET (3.30pm PT) Toronto event starts
  • 8.35pm ET (5.35pm PT) Toronto post-screening discussion livestream
  • 7pm PT (10pm ET) Victoria screening starts
  • 9pm PT (midnight ET) Victoria post-screening discussion livestream

VICTORIA SCREENINGGhostsInOurMachine_POSTER-01

Partnered with Victoria Vegan Fest & Association for the Protection of Fur-Bearing Animals

5.30pm PST DOORS (8.30pm EST)
7pm PST FILM 
(10pm EST)
9pm PST DISCUSSION
(midnight EST)

VICTORIA EVENT CENTRE, 1415 Broad Street
Cash bar, pizza, brownies, and door prizes.
$10-20 suggested donation at the door.

POST SCREENING DISCUSSION 

logo for Raindance TorontoTORONTO SCREENING

in collaboration with Raindance Toronto’s Indie Night at the Carlton
Partnered with Toronto Pig Save and Toronto Vegetarian Association.

6.15pm EST – Doors open (3pm PST)
6.30pm EST-  Short Films (3.30pm PST)
7pm EST – Film (4pm PST)
8.35pm EST – Discussion (5.45pm PST)

Carlton Cinema, 20 Carlton St, Toronto
Cost: $10

We are thrilled to be partnering with Raindance Toronto for this event! Join Raindance and Connect the Docs in the Carlton Cinema lounge before the program to share a drink. Watch a curated short program by Raindance filmmakers, a feature screening of THE GHOSTS IN OUR MACHINE, followed by a cross Canada discussion online.

POST SCREENING DISCUSSION

  • LIZ MARSHALL, Filmmaker, Director & Producer The Ghosts in our Machine.
  • JO-ANNE McARTHUR, Photographer, Founder of We Animals and the subject of The Ghosts in our Machine.
  • ANITA KRAJNC Activist, Co-Founder of Toronto Pig Save and the Save Movement
  • DAVID ALEXANDER, Executive Director Toronto Vegetarian Association

Details and advance tickets on the Raindance website. 

ONLINE

  • Stream the film on iTunes starting on April 22, 2014.
  • Online engagement: 6pm-1am EST (3-10pm PST) on Twitter or Facebook
  • Live streamed post-screening discussions, tune in on our LIVE page (starting times are approximate)
    • TORONTO 8.30 – 9.30pm EST -(5.30 – 6.30pm PST)
    • VICTORIA 9-10pm PST (midnight – 1am EST)
  • FIND ALL OF THE LINKS AND DETAILS on our LIVE page.

THE VIRTUAL CONVERSATION HAS ALREADY BEGUN!

See you at the movies!

Share

8 responses to “THE GHOSTS IN OUR MACHINE: Connecting the Docs in Toronto & Victoria, April 23, 2014”

  1. […] The value of OPEN CINEMA’s new project Connecting the Docs is that it’s breaking the room open and bringing in people on the Internet — the whole model is blown open and communities across Canada are seeing each other in a virtual room for the first time in this context. Documentary brings people together over stories and issues. OPEN CINEMA connects people in the room, on the Internet, and in a ‘sister’ city with their own online community. (Find out more about our next Connecting the Docs on April 23) […]

  2. […] * We’re co-sponsoring a screening of The Ghosts in our Machine with Open Cinema on April 23rd, click here for the details. […]

  3. […] on Wednesday, April 23, 2014: a screening and discussion of Liz Marshall’s award-winning film The Ghosts in our Machine in Victoria, Toronto and […]

  4. […] engagement. Read about our first two events here and here, and join us at our April 23 screening of The Ghosts in our Machine, in Victoria, Toronto and […]

  5. […] After my second time around facilitating the Facebook group discussion for the film My Prairie Home, I am completely convinced that this new addition is an excellent and soon-to-be integral tool for OPEN CINEMA to accomplish its mission to use film as a tool for community engagement. I look forward very much to seeing you there in the discussion group for the next film in the Connecting the Docs series, The Ghosts in Our Machine on 23 April, 2014. […]

  6. […] successful Connecting the Docs events in Victoria and simultaneously in Charlottetown, Calgary and Toronto. These exciting innovative hybrid cinema (live + virtual) events have created waves across the doc […]

  7. […] April 23, 2014 – Liz Marshall’s paradigm-shifting film THE GHOSTS IN OUR MACHINE in Toronto and Victoria created an important dialogue about animal rights, with a Twitter reach of 212,000 during 24 hours. Read more. […]

Leave a Reply